Polywell Visions: Water

If polywell fusion is developed, in what ways will the world change for better or worse? Discuss.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

cksantos

Polywell Visions: Water

Post by cksantos »

This is my first post, so ill introduce myself. My name is Cole and I work for the water department in Maui, Hawaii. I studied aquaponics and philosophy as a student at UH Manoa. I read lots of SF and news. I was a leech on this site for a while before I decided to post.

1. Fresh potable water will become abundant.

a. Flash steam distallation will become cheap. It is much cheaper to build a flash steam distillation plant than a RO plant, but the energy costs of a flash steam plant are significantly higher. Right now Australia is integrating solar to bring the cost down, but successful polywell will make this unnecessary.

b. Atmospheric Water Generators (AWG) will become more cost effective than transmission. It is very expensive to build water infrastructure, and often our water infrastructure is aging to the point of being inoperable. Using what is effectively a giant dehumidifier one could generate a truly distributed water supply by placing small water tanks and a big dehumidifier on every home, or in every dry dying forest and desert, or industrial process plants.

c. When you combine giant ocean steam generators, and massive AWG's you can control earths atmosphere and consequently, weather. Not sure if were ready for quite this level of terraforming yet...

cksantos

Post by cksantos »

No one cares about water?

jsbiff

Post by jsbiff »

I'll bite. . .