I am new here.

Discuss life, the universe, and everything with other members of this site. Get to know your fellow polywell enthusiasts.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

kcdodd

I am new here.

Post by kcdodd »

I just wanted to stop in and say hello. My name is Carter, and I am a recently graduated physics student (undergrad that is). I have followed fusor stuff since high school, when I just thought it made really cool pictures. haha. And became interested in the polywell approach only last year. I was really sad when I learned Dr. Bussard had passed away.

Anyhoo, I am going to try to join the club and write some simulation code. I found Indrek's website through the fusor.net site several months ago and basically copied some of what he had done in matlab my last semester in school (edit: you can see a couple plots on my website). But then I read up on the Vlasov equation and am currently coding a solver for it.

So, Hi!

tonybarry

Post by tonybarry »

Hello Kenneth,
Welcome to talk-polywell.

I had a look at your website, it was a good effort. There were some things I didn't understand. In the
graph:-
you have colour representing something. What is that something?

I like the idea of using Matlab. There are a number of real pluses to using it.
-it is known widely
-it compiles easily on several platforms (Win/Mac/Linux/Sun?)
-its functions are tested and known to return correct answers
-its graphical functions are easily accessed and manipulated
-multiprocessor support is built in using a couple of basic code constructs (forp instead of for, etc) and it hides the multiproc workings from the user
-the Distributed Computing Toolbox will run four cores (e.g. on a Mac 8-core beast) with no further licensing issues

On the downside, it is
-expensive (the DCT is Very Expensive, and if you have a worker farm, it's Horribly Expensive)
-slow (using the inbuilt functions is razor fast, but any discrete operations can take a lot longer than C would