If LFTR and Polywell were both proven which would you take?

Discuss life, the universe, and everything with other members of this site. Get to know your fellow polywell enthusiasts.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

passenger66

If LFTR and Polywell were both proven which would you take?

Post by passenger66 »

If the LFTR and Polywell were both proven would you still want the LFTR?

I am a layman on this forum i.e. I do not know maths or physics.

I will ask my question several ways.

If the LFTR and Polywell were both proven (I'm not sure if the Polywell would need to be aneutronic for the purposes of my question), would you still want the LFTR?
I'm trying to figure out whether to encourage the LFTR or wait for the Polywell. (The LFTR is proven science AFAIK whereas the Polywell is not AFAIK).
What would you use a neutronic Polywell for if an aneutronic Polywell worked?
Is it an either/or question.

Part of this whole line of questioning is finance - the LFTR will take several billions to develop to production (I guess) even though the science is proven, whereas the Polywell will take only several hundred millions to develop to production (I guess) since it is a simpler machine.

I should also say I'm an Anthropogenic Global Warming believer i.e. I find, for example, James Lovelock's latest book "The Vanishing Face of Gaia" very believable. So I think we have to do a good risk management job of deciding what to do about developing clean energy, given the highly weighted parameters of understanding what really is green and understanding how much (or little) time is left.

This matters to me since I have been trying to influence my MP (Canada) to promote the LFTR as the most efficient, cost-effective, carbon-neutral and proven form of energy.
But if the Polywell is going to be proven shortly, and will cost an order of magnitude less, then we should wait for that, unless there are benefits to the LFTR that cannot be obtained from the Polywell.

kurt9

Post by kurt9 »