Polywell Parameters

Discuss how polywell fusion works; share theoretical questions and answers.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

pstudier

Polywell Parameters

Post by pstudier »

Can anyone give us parameters, such as dimensions of the coils, currents, magnetic fields, plasma density, electron and energy confinement times, plasma distributions, etc?
Fusion is easy, but break even is horrendous.

jlumartinez

Post by jlumartinez »

The biggest source of details is Bussard´s IAC 2006 paper and the Google video. All theses technical data is only helpful is you are trying to reproduce the experiments. Are you investigating the WB6 results for that reason? It would be great!! What is your background?

pstudier

Post by pstudier »

I studied plasma physics about 30 years ago. My degree is in Physics, but I spent my career doing engineering in an unrelated field. I was hoping to calculate things like energy and electron confinement time, whether this thing will have velocity space instabilities, etc. Polywell appears to be MHD stable, which is good because if it were not, the plasma would disrupt in about a microsecond. Fusion is easy, but breakeven is horrendous.

jlumartinez

Post by jlumartinez »

There is a couple of more forums where you can find some technical answers about polywell: fusor.net and nasaspaceflight.com. Talk-polywell has just been born since a week. Soon there will be more members to answer your questions

cuddihy

Post by cuddihy »

pstudier wrote:I studied plasma physics about 30 years ago. My degree is in Physics, but I spent my career doing engineering in an unrelated field. I was hoping to calculate things like energy and electron confinement time, whether this thing will have velocity space instabilities, etc. Polywell appears to be MHD stable, which is good because if it were not, the plasma would disrupt in about a microsecond. Fusion is easy, but breakeven is horrendous.