Publicly maintained F.A.Q / wiki for polywell proposed here

Discuss how polywell fusion works; share theoretical questions and answers.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

ohiovr

Publicly maintained F.A.Q / wiki for polywell proposed here

Post by ohiovr »

Greetings polywell enthusiasts. I have a web server with the bandwidth to handle the hosting of a FAQ page for polywell. And it is economical for me to maintain for a long time. I've got the start of a FAQ going and I am here to propose its use amongst people here much more informed than I.

I choose media wiki as the frame work for the faq because it seems to be the standard for collaborative editing and administration. I'm new to editing wiki and administrating it.

I think a F.A.Q is important. It allows the ignorant a place to get informed, and the informed the ability to move on to newer more important topics.

Maybe ohiovr.com isn't a good place to put the F.A.Q but its a good place to try things out. Media Wiki is very easy to install and set up. The only thing I cannot get media wiki to do is render equations to png graphics. This is because I do not have shell access to my site and I would need to compile and install LaTex and some support programs. Wouldn't it be nice if talk-polywell.com had shell access, they could host a more effective wiki. Anyway I have a work around for that problem. Open Office has an equation renderer to pdf files and you can grab screen shot of it and it looks nice. Or if you have Linux you can install latex and render equations with that.

You can find the F.A.Q here:

http://www.ohiovr.com/polywell-faq/inde ... =Main_Page

You will need to join as a user to edit the wiki and there is a confirmation email that you'd need to acknowledge for that privilege.

I hope this effort is useful. If I can be of any other help let me know.

spam @ ohiovr dot com

ohiovr

Post by ohiovr »

Maybe answering newbie questions over and over isn't a problem after all. :D

KitemanSA