Undergrad Research

Discuss how polywell fusion works; share theoretical questions and answers.

Moderators: tonybarry, MSimon

Telchar

Undergrad Research

Post by Telchar »

Hello everybody. I'm a 4th year undergrad physics/math major, been following the polywell for a while now, and reading this forum. I'm doing an independent study this semester, and I'm hoping to do the project on the polywell.

I'm thinking about trying to do a computational simulation, some kind of finite element analysis to see if I can learn anything about the plasma confinement, but I'm frankly a bit ignorant of what would be a useful area of study, and what would be feasible.

If anyone could give me some suggestions on what would be a useful (or at least maybe interesting) research project that I'd have a hope of finishing in a semester with little to no funding it would help a lot. I saw that there has been some work so far on simulations (like the Vlasov solver thread). I'd be happy to devote a semester to polywell research and maybe build on some of the previous work here.

FAMULUS

Undergrad Research

Post by FAMULUS »

Hey Telchar. I'm doing research on fabrication technologies and attempting to build a research scale polywell. See http://prometheusfusionperfection.wordpress.com/

You mentioned finite element analysis, which is something I need help with: http://prometheusfusionperfection.wordp ... -analysis/

I see the problem as basically finding an opensource tool-chain to go from physical model to finite element analysis of mechanical strength.

It would be great to get help on the computational analysis side of things.

KitemanSA

Post by KitemanSA »

How about attempting to calculate the sputtering rate of various materials (diamond, SiC, etc) under a given flux of ~3MeV alpha particles? This may lead to post grad work on experimental confirmation.

Solo

Post by Solo »